Ten Year Anniversary (almost)

I can’t believe it will be here soon! Ten years ago we began our love affair and it is still going strong. It began very one sided with me in pursuit, but soon I began to find myself being searched out by it in the most unexpected of places. On airplanes, in university classes, in SoCal bars, on the computer, and at work, it found me.

I am of course talking about my love of Bollywood! Films so full of color, music, love , sadness, happiness, and life they are bursting at the seams. I have seen so many movies now, that I have begun to re-watch films without realizing I have seen them before (not that it is a bad thing). Over these wonderful years I have been asked by many how my love for Bollywood began, and for recommendations of good movies.  All this has led me to the decision that I should start a blog. A blog about my love for this cinema, for keeping a record, and for recommendations. So feel free to follow, to comment, to agree, to disagree, to just enjoy, and hopefully you too will fall in love with Bollywood!

7 Comments

  1. Mom said,

    December 17, 2010 at 20:27

    Excellent Angel!

    • December 22, 2010 at 17:31

      Thanks, Mom! I know you would love more Bollywood if you would watch it. You were with me when it all began, and you were the one who raised me on musicals. Hade yah, anne, izle (hurry up, mom, and watch)!

      • wendi said,

        February 24, 2011 at 07:44

        That’s funny! My mom raised me on musicals and i’ve introduced my kids to musicals and we (especially my kids and I) love love LOVE Bollywood. Music, dancing, SINGING MEN, DANCING MEN, colors, family values – all of it’s wonderful. Just wonderful.

  2. Donna Kimball said,

    December 20, 2010 at 01:37

    I think I too have been watching Bollywood films for nearly 10 years as well! I also got into studying them, reading about them and getting hooked on filmi magazines! Humm someday, I may have to write book about them!
    Glad to find more and more folks into these wonderful films!
    namaste yaara!

    • December 22, 2010 at 17:36

      Well, Happy Ten Year Anniversary to you too then! I read books about them as well, and used to have a subscription to Stardust that came all the way from India. Let me know if you do write a book because I will have to reserve my copy on Amazon :).
      Namaste!

      • Donna Kimball said,

        December 26, 2010 at 01:07

        may want to borrow those ole Stardust! I will lend you one of my Rachel Dwyer books! Humm–may need an editor for my book who knows about Bollywood–my son will do the grammar!

      • December 26, 2010 at 01:52

        I will have to find them when I go home this summer (they are in boxes somewhere). I would love to help edit your book or whatever you need help with 🙂 !


Leave a Reply

