Rangeela

Early on in my Bollywood watching days I came across Rangeela. It was in my list of Aamir Khan movies to watch and I had the title song, “Rangeela Re”, on a mixed Bollywood music CD I had purchased. The ’80’s and early ’90’s fashion in this movie is cringe worthy, but I loved it at the same time. Urmila Matondkar is beautiful in this film and Aamir Khan was hilarious (loved the net tank he sports through most the film). Aamir supposedly hung out with street gangs in Mumbai to get his acting and accent perfect. Though I have never been to Mumbai, I felt very convinced by his performance :).

The basic story is about Munna, a sweet street smart orphan, who realizes he is in love with his best friend, Mili, and proceeds to try and impress/tell her while she is being swept away by the big famous actor Kamal (played by Jackie Shroff) and the movie biz. It is a great story with a cast where every character is very likable. Not to be missed!

The songs are not my favorites to listen to on their own, but while watching the film they are great. Check out my favorites: “Rangeela Re“, as the opening scenes and “Mangta Hai Kya“, when Munna realizes he’s in love with Mili. For not-to-miss dancing watch “Kya Kare Kya Na Kare” and “Tanha Tanha Yahan Pe Jeena“.

2 Comments

  1. Donna Kimball said,

    December 26, 2010 at 01:05

    This movie is pretty awesome—even though the big hair and big shoulders outfits from the 80’s are bad! The first time I saw KKHH and they did the movie thing–I had no idea how the dance move she did related to Rangeela–well, after see the movie–that move is pretty obvious!

    • December 26, 2010 at 01:50

      Same here, but after watching Rangeela so recently I totally got it and thought it was so cute. Sometimes I feel like I miss things because there are lots of older movies I have missed. I need to watch more from the 80’s and before.


Leave a Reply

