Namastey London

I completely LOVED Namastey London!  It has been awhile since I have watched a film that made me laugh so hard, tear up, and feel the chemistry between the characters so well. NL is about Indians born abroad who either forget their heritage or try to rebel against it. This is a common topic in more recent Bollywood films as there are many Indians living aboard who can identify with this. NL is also a typical rom com where boy likes girl, girl despises boy, and boy works really hard to get the girl to fall in love with him. It works really well in this movie for a couple of reasons.

Akshay Kumar (Arjun) and Katrina Kaif (Jasmeet, Jazz) have fantastic chemistry. From their first meeting, to the balcony, to the final scenes, they just were spectacular. I have always liked Akshay Kumar, especially after watching Andaaz, but I think he shot way up my list of favorites to number 5 (behind SRK, Aamir, Amitabh, and Saif Ali). So many great moments with him. However, this is the first film I have watched with Katrina Kaif in it. I heard a lot about her but never watched a film. I am definitely looking for more now. She was perfect.

There are just incredibly funny scenes and lines. I was doubled over watching the prospective groom who thought he was on a soap opera. It makes me laugh just thinking about it. Also, Katrina’s date in the beginning with Riteish Deshmukh in a cameo was priceless. But my favorite line was when Akshay and Katrina were watching the rugby match. Katrina asks him, doesn’t he know why the British guys challenged the Indians guys to a rugby match and not cricket. Akshay answers, completely serious, “I thought he must have watched Lagaan”. I was cracking up!!!

The music was great, from the score to the individual songs. Check out the chemistry in action in these songs: “Yehi Hota Pyaar“, “Chakna Chakna“, and “Rafta Rafta“.

And not to be left out is the great supporting cast. I must be on a Rishi Kapoor movie streak, because here he was again. Then there was Upen Patel as Jasmeet’s best friend, Imran. He was great and has a seriously cute chin dimple (hehe). And Nina Wadia was great as Jasmeet’s mother. Clive Standen was great as the object of Jasmeet’s affection though you never really liked him much.

Hope you all watch and enjoy the film!

2 Comments

  1. Mom said,

    January 12, 2011 at 08:17

    Sounds like I must watch this one. Will order on Netflix ~

    • January 13, 2011 at 00:00

      You will love it, mom. Watch it and then write back :). I will make you a Bollywood fan yet!


Leave a comment