Humraaz

Tragedy has befallen my external hard drive and I can not continue my Anushka Sharma series (at this time) as I had wanted. My fabulous IT guy at work is working very hard to recover my files though, and it is looking like a very successful endeavor ;). In the meantime, I decided to watch an old favorite, Humraaz (Our Secret). Humraaz was the first Bollywood thriller I watched back in the day, and I did not expect the violence. Up until that point, I had only seen romances and dramas of the happy and calm variety. It has been about nine year since my last viewing, and I had totally forgotten about all the impalings (no less than five) and breaking of bones (*cringe*).

The story revolves around a love triangle between Karan (Akshaye Khanna), Priya (Amisha Patel), and Raj (Bobby Deol). Karan is the head of a dance troupe and Priya is his partner and devoted girlfriend. Raj is a tycoon who employs their troupe on his cruise ship. He immediately falls in love with Priya and pursues her, unaware of her relationship with Raj. It is a romance, sure,  but also a top notch thriller. There are tons of twists and turn, and just when you think you have it figured out, wrong again! In a three hour film, so much can happen but I am not going to give anything away. I will however mention the top notch comedic performance of Johnny Lever. He was so hilarious that I was laughing out loud.

One of the things I always remembered about the movie were the musical numbers. So fantastic! The fire and ice look of “Bardaasht“, Priya’s beautiful blue sari in “Life Ban Jayegi“, and I just love the song “Dil Ne Kar Liya“. There are some other really good songs as well, but you should just watch it, love it, and share it.

Spreading the Bollywood love, yaara!

4 Comments

  1. Mom said,

    January 29, 2011 at 05:02

    I know I am biased but I love your blog, Angel.

    • January 29, 2011 at 17:50

      You are biased, but if you started watching the movies you could love it even more :). XOXO

  2. Donna Kimball said,

    January 29, 2011 at 15:10

    I have not watched too many of the Bollywood suspense–since that movie genre is not my favorite even in western movies. Though, some of the movies I watch might be considered close–but I may need to watch this one.

    • January 29, 2011 at 17:51

      I would definitely recommend this one though. It does not get really gruesome until the very last fight scene. The rest is just good old fashioned blackmailing, secrets, and suspense. I am not a huge suspense fan either, but I have always liked Humraaz.


Leave a Reply

